One Snowflake’s Story

It is with permission that I share with you the recent experience of a 26 year old woman with Myasthenia Gravis. It is eye opening, disturbing, and heartbreaking.  How brave of her to come forward so that others are aware. Thank you.

M.M’s Experience 7/15/17

It’s so upsetting when the medical professionals caring for you make  rude comments about you; right in front of me. They think because I’m having a hard time talking right now that I’m mentally impaired as well. I’m NOT! I can hear you say “I wish I wouldn’t have taken this patient on. She’s a mental case. She purposely doesn’t talk because she’s super manipulative…” 

It’s hard to defend myself when my speech is challenging–I’m not talking because my MG is making it difficult to do so. I struggle waking up so be patient with me. And omgosh I didn’t mean to pull my feeding tube partially out. (I find myself picking it while I’m asleep) and it was an accident. 
Once one staff starts making these comments it seems many others follow. This has been a trend going on since just before I moved to the medsurg floor off a neuro telemetry floor. I hope I get accepted into the rehab tomorrow so I can leave this place. It’s starting to really get to me emotionally and I can’t allow negative feelings because it only makes my physical recovery harder. πŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ #mgstrong 
#beasnowflake #warriorthrough πŸ’œβœ¨πŸπŸ₯„❄️

Deb Correia 7/27/17

Leave a Reply

