Wrong Direction

wpid-20130625_113250.jpg I have never abused pain meds, doctor shopped for additional meds, looked into the medicine cabinets of friends and family to see what they had.  I have never stolen medications from others or bought meds on the street, so why am I being treated like a drug seeking, drug addicted person when what I need is pain management?

I asked for the report of my MRI regarding my rotator cuff issue.  The report indicated I have 3 tears; a surface tear of the muscle that stabilizes the shoulder joint, a tear of the cartilage that covers the top part of the shoulder socket, and a tear of a portion of the bicep.  This is in addition to degeneration of part of the scapula, and damage to part of the tendon at a cellular level.  This damage leads to an increasing risk of a tendon rupture in the bicep area.  Yet when I called for an increase in pain meds I was told this would not be done.  You see I am already on a medication for chronic pain due to a diagnosis of a rare disease.  However, this medication, while it takes the edge off of the shoulder issue will not maintain me at the prescribed dosage, not for both issues, because it is written for one diagnosis.

However, state regulators are not concerned with my pain and apparently doctors are tired of the paper work.  When I called to get an increase I was told in a very matter of fact tone, “state regulations want us to decrease doses not increase them.”  The fact that I had an additional issue was irrelevant.  My pain was not even significant to the subject.  Relief was not to be had and the follow up appointment with the orthopedic doctor was 3 weeks away, including referral time, so that was not an immediate option.  I thought maybe I could try the local pain management center, I already had a referral with them.  I call only to find out that regardless of spending my entire life working, being side-tracked with a disability will label you a second class citizen.  I was told that if Medicaid was my primary form of insurance then I would need to be on a wait list for the Medicaid schedule.  I thought pain was pain, but apparently the pain of the privately insured is more important than the pain of others.  Again, my pain and I are invisible.

Due to big pharmaceutical companies pushing their medications and now the heroin addiction, the pendulum has swung in the opposite direction.  I am not being treated at the Drs. office as an individual based upon my own diagnoses and behavior, but treated based upon the behavior of others.  Actually, in some respects I am not being treated at all.  In my opinion in a society that has the means to treat pain, a person having to suffer with moderate pain on a daily basis needlessly because of regulations is neglect.   It is not medicine.  The Hippocratic oath I do not feel was followed.  In this particular situation I do not believe that the medical profession “‘treated’ the ill to the best of one’s ability.”  Suffering is not treatment.

Deb Correia 1/21/2017 ©

 

Leave a Reply

