Not There Yet

20130429_111409

He who yells the loudest does not win.
Strutting around all poofed out,
chest-thumping King Kong
your ego larger than the reality.

I know that I am supposed to
look upon you with love and compassion,
but I’m not there yet.
Your abuse of power gets in the way
as it challenges my own journey
towards true inner peace.

I am not supposed to judge
your outbursts at perceived injustices
that are nothing more than
overgrown temper tantrums.
These slights you feel
result from your own grandiose thinking.
I am supposed to be empathetic
to your plight.
but I’m not there yet.

I am not supposed to react
as you go about attempting to slander my name
so as to justify your own
unethical, bullish actions.
Predictable behavior of one
whose insecurities rise and mount
the over-inflated ego.

I am supposed to turn the other cheek,
work with these
unacceptable and unpleasant moments,
but I’m not there yet.

However, do not be fooled,
I shall get there.
My awareness will be my guide.
Your darkness,
a mere shadow
will be overcome by my light,
for it will pass through me
and not lay upon me.

While the surface may ripple,
deep down I will remain undisturbed
for my inner peace
will not be controlled by others.
© 04/29/13 Deb Correia

“Not There Yet” – venting about the injustices that some people feel totally justified placing upon others. All those who have been or continue to be affected by such individual’s – it is difficult right? Difficult to take the higher road, turn the other cheek, let alone look upon the wrong doer with empathy and compassion. Wanting, wishing, waiting on Karma to catch up to the individual and get ’em! But then, does that make us any different? I don’t know, but I’ll leave you with two quotes on karma from a couple of pretty famous guys. Enjoy!

“How people treat you is their karma. How you react is yours.” ~ Dr. Wayne Dyer

“If you’re a really mean person you’re going to come back as a fly and eat poop.” ~Kurt Cobain

2 thoughts on “Not There Yet

  1. I also follow the philosophy of Budhhism. I try to walk the path, but sometimes I fall off and have to climb back up again. One of my favorite authors is Pema Chodron. She is a Budhhist nun, head of Gampo Abbey, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, the first Tibetan monastery in North America for Westerners. She reminds us that it doesn’t happen all at once, and even she has bad days where she doesn’t live up to her goals.

    I loved the last verse of your poem. That is, indeed, the ideal state, but I’m not there yet.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

    Like

    • Hi Dennis,

      I have never heard of Pema Chodron, but then again I am new to this way of life/thinking/behaving. I will have to check her out. I do agree that it does not happen all at once and when we do fall we must get back up again and carry on. I think what has been fantastic is the awareness. I think my awareness has increased ten fold and that is half the battle. As Maya Angelou says, “when you know better, you do better.” This awareness certainly helps me to do better. I think it is a very exciting journey. My biggest hope is that I can touch the lives of others in a positive way.
      Thanks for your comments Dennis – I always enjoy the conversation. Namaste 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

