Turning Ugly Around

So, I guess I’m in a space not to write poetry or take photo’s but simply to share thoughts. I’ve really been trying to look on the bright side of things, put a positive spin on situations, create a shift in my thinking. Some days this is easier than others. However, all of that said, I do believe we have within ourselves the power to change our thoughts, and therefore our days. Each day I awaken I begin my day with prayers of gratitude. I believe it puts me in a better space to begin the day. I did that today, but you know – perhaps I was to remote about it? As the day unfolded the day got ugly and it got ugly fast. It never ceases to amaze me how quickly a day can spiral to ugly and how difficult it can be to pick yourself up and out of ugly. However, today – for me- was different. As I was being swallowed by ugly, I decided to write ” I am so happy and grateful for….” and proceeded to write. It really is amazing how quickly this list can grow when you stop and think about things. Then when you think your done you find yourself saying “oh yah” – and digging out your pad to add that to the list. Perhaps what is even more amazing is how quickly this turned the ugly around. You know, they say when you’re feeling depressed or sorry for yourself you should go and do something nice for someone less fortunate. I suppose this is along similar lines – by bringing to focus ALL that you are thankful for, you cannot help but turn your thoughts around. I remember reading one of Dr. Wayne Dyer’s books and he had stated (and I’m paraphrasing) if we are having a thought we do not like, change it. Visualize a conveyor belt with an array of thoughts on it and select the one you want to feel. I don’t know about any of you, but when I thought of the conveyor belt I was instantly brought to the “I Love Lucy” episode of Lucy & Ethel working at the chocolate factory and eating the chocolates off the conveyor belt. This image alone is enough to change one’s thoughts and feelings, but you get what I mean. If we can remember to use the conveyor belt visual or the gratitude list we can change our thoughts. I found it worked for me. I encourage you to try it as well. Let me know.

Leave a Reply

