Darkness

This was a piece I wrote many years ago during a dark period in my life.

Darkness

My friend
you have united with me once again,
as the past returns
you have protected me.
With you
I have found security.
Comfort
has forbidden me to push you away.
I need
all that you have to offer.
Yet
a time shall come
when we must part,
for you will have deluded me.
There is no safety
in your warmth,
only loneliness.
In my illusion
the wall has engulfed me.
I have become
a prisoner within myself
for I sought refuge
within you.
(originally written 1986) ©2013 Deb Correia

Leave a Reply

